Press Release: DAILY COVERAGE OF THE CALGARY STAMPEDE BEGINS FRIDAY, JULY 3 ON CBC-TV AND CBCSPORTS.CA

CBC (logo via CBC)

CBC (logo via CBC)

The foot-stomping, heart-pounding action of The Calgary Stampede returns to CBC this week with live daily coverage presented by GMC on CBC-TV and cbcsports.ca throughout the 10-day event beginning this Friday. Known as the greatest outdoor show on earth, The Calgary Stampede is the world’s richest tournament-style rodeo with top-ranked cowboys and cowgirls competing for more than $2 million in prizes, and the thrilling rangeland derby with a purse of more than $1.15 million.

CBC-TV and cbcsports.ca will have coverage of all of the exciting events that make up The Calgary Stampede, including this Friday’s Calgary Stampede Parade as well as Championship Weekend featuring Wild Card Saturday and Showdown Sunday (July 11 and 12, respectively). Daily broadcasts will include rangeland derby and rodeo coverage on cbcsports.ca, as well as a nightly wrap-up show on CBC-TV.

Coverage of the Calgary Stampede Parade begins at 11 a.m. ET (8 a.m. PT) on cbcsports.ca and on CBC-TV in Southern Alberta this Friday, hosted by CBC’s Pan Am Games afternoon host Andi Petrillo, and Jonny Harris, star of CBC’s Still Standing and Murdoch Mysteries, with Heartland star Amber Marshall joining the broadcast team as a reporter along the parade route. An encore broadcast of the parade will air nationally on CBC-TV and cbcsports.ca on Saturday, July 4 at 2 p.m. ET (11 a.m. PT). Petrillo will also host CBC’s coverage from the Stampede grounds on the opening Saturday (July 4th) and Ron MacLean will host coverage the following Saturday and Sunday, Championship Weekend. Legendary rodeo announcer Bob Tallman will join MacLean as a special guest for added analysis and commentary on Championship Sunday.

Advertisements