Press Release: CATCH EXCLUSIVE CHAMPIONSHIP ACTION FROM THE ROGERS CUP PRESENTED BY NATIONAL BANK ON CBC, AUGUST 9 AND 10

CBC (logo via Wikimedia)

The top tennis players in the world will be heating up the courts in Toronto and Montreal next week at the Rogers Cup presented by National Bank and CBC is Canada’s exclusive home for live coverage of the men’s and women’s semifinals and finals on Saturday, August 9th and Sunday, August 10th. CBC’s television and online coverage begins with the first women’s semifinal at 12:30 p.m. ET (9:30 a.m. PT) followed by the first men’s semifinal at 3 p.m. ET (12 p.m. PT) on August 9th.

Elliotte Freidman (@friedgeHNIC) will host CBC’s coverage of the only Canadian stop on the ATP and WTA tours all weekend from the men’s event at Toronto’s Rexall Centre at York University, with studio analysts Justin Gimelstob (@justingimelstob) and Tom Tebbutt (@tomtebbutt). Gimelstob won 13 ATP doubles titles over his career as well as the mixed doubles championship at both the Australian Open and French Open and Tebbutt is a veteran tennis journalist widely considered Canada’s foremost voice on the sport.

Play-by-play for the men’s event will be provided by CBC’s Bruce Rainnie, joined in the booth by analyst Jimmy Arias (@ariastennis) with David Amber (@DavidAmber) reporting. Arias is a former fifth-ranked player in the world, won five singles titles on the ATP Tour during his career and at 15-years-old was the youngest player to achieve a world ranking. RJ Broadhead (@SNRJBroadhead) will handle play-by-play for the women’s event at Uniprix Stadium in Montreal alongside analyst Tracy Austin (@thetracyaustin), with Brenda Irving (@BrendaCBCSports) reporting. Austin is a former world No. 1-ranked player with 30 WTA singles titles including two US Open championships, four doubles titles, a Wimbledon mixed doubles championship and is a member of the International Tennis Hall of Fame.

(Featured image: Logo via CBC Media Centre)
Advertisements